index Development History Clubs Comments Archives Links
silver hill

Emyvale Cycling Club Grand Prix 2017

Emyvale CC held its annual Grand Prix reaces on Sunday, May 21st and 2017 has been one of the biggest yet for entries. They came from all over Ireland including Kanturk, Cork; Ballina, Mayo; Mullingar; Wexford; Dublin; Louth; Meath; and many more as well as every county in Ulster and at least one from the USA. The forecasted showers stayed away and all races were completed with no major incident. The competition was stiff and fast times were recorded and the Ladies of the Club made sure that all had plenty to eat all day. The club expressed its great appreciation to Emyvale Credit Union and Universal Graphics for the generous sponsorship and we have a photo of Emma McKenna presenting the sponsorship to Club Chairman, Michael McKenna; to the Emyvale GAA club for the use of the facilities at Tully; to the Gardai for their assistance; to the Red Cross; to the big team of marshals and stewards who carried out their work professionally; to the residents along the routes for their cooperation; to all road users who were inconvenienced; to Murphy Video Services; to the Commissaires; and a big thank you to the huge number of participants and their supporters. There were races for Boys and Girls in U12, U14 and U16, with Senior races for A1, A2, A3, A4, Junior, Masters and Ladies. There was a lovely surprise for all when a well known and successful cyclist arrived to help make the presentations to the Underage winners. It was non-other than Mark Scanlon and he is a former winner of the Emyvale GP and went on to win Junior Tour of Ireland, World Road Race champion, National Elite Road Race champion, and a Stage winner in Rás. Mark Scanlon won the Emyvale Grand Prix in 1998 as a Junior rider, same year he became world champion on his 18th Birthday . In doing so he became the last rider to receive the much coveted Seamus Cadden hand carved Hall table as first prize. Second rider home was his great friend and fellow Irish Team rider at the world championships Stephen Gallagher (Richhill), Stephen went on to become a RAS winner in 2008 while competing with the Sean Kelly/An Post team. Third rider home that same day was the late Seamus Kennedy (Meath), who won the RAS in 1978. Seamus died in May 2012, RIP. As a professional Mark rode in the Tour de France, and Giro as well as all the other big events and it was a pleasure to have him call and make the presentations - Thanks Mark. It was an extensive programme but all was completed safely and on time - so congrats to the organising committee on a job well done. Full list of results at the bottom of this page.

This young man from Antrim deserved a medal. Although he had to get medical attention during his race, he hopped back on the bike and finished the race. What courage and commitment.

Well done.

Emyvale's Peter Mohan finishing 3rd.




1st Quillan Donnelly - Kanturk CC

2nd Adam Rafferty - Island wheelers

3rd Elijah Mc Ginley - Errigal CC

4th Aaron Archibald - BCC

5th Harry Irwin - ETCC

6th Clark Hogan - BCC


Emyvale riders:

1st Ben Reilly

2nd Caolan Mc Kenna

3rd Fintan Duffy



1st Ellen Murray - TC Racing

2nd Zoe Lindsay  - DCC

3rd Emma Smith - Navan RC


1st Rowan Montgomery - BCC

2nd Adam Gilsenan - Bohermeen

3rd Ciaran McGettigan  Errigal CC

4th Eoghan Cooke - SERC

5th Joseph Owens - Omagh whs

6th Darren Rafferty - Island whs



1st Aoife O'Brien - Lakeside whs

2nd Maia Simmons - NDCC

3rd Katie Neill - CW

Unplaced ECC - Conal Duffy


1st Shay Donley - BCC

2nd Ciaran Cahoon - Clann Eireann

3rd Ryan Geraghty - Bike work

4th Cathal Gallagher - Errigal CC

5th Chris Donald - Madigan

6th Aaron Wade - Lakeside wheelers



1st Caoimhe O'Brien - Lakeside ws

2nd Ellie Kelso - ETCC

3rd Rachel McLaughlin - BCC

Unplaced ECC - James Mc Kinney


1. Cian Delaney Stamullen

2. Keith Phillips NDCC

3. Andrew Chivers NDCC

4. Timmy Burns NDCC

5. Calvin Moore NDCC

6. Connor MC Cann Inspired

7. Nathan Mullan, Inspired

8. Ryan Callan Lucan cc

9. Orphan Connors, Scott Orwell

10. Gary Gorman Stamullen


Best placed local rider, Paddy J MC Kenna Emyvale CC


1. Harvey Barnes, East Tyrone

2. Jack Caldwell, TBW

3. Stephen Conroy, Lucan cc

4. Gareth Fitzgerald, VCG

5. Connell Donnelly, Clogher Valley

6. Stephen Finnegan, Yeats

7. Brian (Benny) O Kane Square, Moy.

8. Barry Rusell, Carn Wheelers.

9. Liam Hanley, Lucan cc

10. Andrew Farrell, Wexford.


Best placed, local rider Stephen MC Cann (11th) Emyvale Cc.


1. Gareth Boyle, NDCC

2. Jason Potter, Castlebar

3. Peter Mohan Emyvale Cc

4. Alex Ekiz,Ballina.

5  Simon Curry Armagh

6. Mark Kelly, Emyvale Cc

7. Phil Neil Keevan Cc

8. Thomas Hepburn Island Wheelers.

Ist unplaced local rider, John P Colton.

Ist placed A4, Ladies Lorainne Mullarkey.

Master Race Chris MC Cann, Phoenix.

Ladies Race, Kate Curley Kilternan.