index Development History Clubs Comments Archives Links
silver hill

Run/Walk to Remember Gary Askin

Generous Donation from Gibson Bros.

Gibson Bros, the construction company carrying out the realignment of the N2 from the village to Corracrin were anxious to show their support for the Run/Walk in memory of Gary and this week they presented a generous donation to the fund. It was presented by Kieran Doyle, Senior Civil Engineering and Business Manager at Gibson Ltd and Nicola McDowell. The donation was accepted on behalf of the organisers by Brendan and Stephen Askin and Peadar McGee. Kieran wished the project every success and Peadar McGee expressed the appreciation of the organisers to Gibson Ltd for their generous gesture.

The event took place in damp conditions on Friday, August 17th 2018 and the huge crowd taking part seemed oblivious to the weather. It was estimated that there was somewhat over 1200 participants and I could not argue with that as they just kept coming and coming - some running, some jogging, some walking briskly and some dodging along. There were T-Shirts, there were marshals and stewards, there were catering staff members, parking attendants, Announcer, music maker, Gardai, and on-lookers. They came from everywhere and every neighbouring area was well represented. Glaslough Harriers helped out, the football clubs helped out, and it is unfair of me to mention them when I cannot name all the others who helped. Hopefully we will get a fuller report later but it would be an impossible task to name individuals, clubs, organisations, and groups who were involved in one way or another. It was a most wonderful community event and unfortunately we have seen our communities in action before in times of sadness and it is encouraging and consoling to see how people come together to show support and friendship in tough times. PJ Rice donated a beautiful Cup for the first runner home in the 7km but three runners came in together - Conor Duffy, Sean Ryan McCaffrey and Christopher McGuirk - and they will share the cup for the coming year. It was presented to them by PJ, Eddie and Geraldine. Well done to all.