index Development History Clubs Comments Archives Links
silver hill

Emyvale CC Grand Prix 2018

Sunday, May 20th was a big day for Emyvale Cycling Club as they held their annual Grand Prix. Cyclists of all ages came from all over the Country to participate in what is regarded as a top class event. It also got a boost in prestige when it was asked to run a round of the National league for ladies which attracted a big field of female cyclists. The weather forecast was very poor with rain and wind, both of which make for difficult conditions for the cyclists, and it did rain during the morning while the underage events were taking place. The road surfaces could be slippery after the dry period but thankfully there were no casualties. However it dried up very quickly and the afternoon for the adults was dry with a stiff headwind for the riders as they headed towards Ballybay. Emyvale District Credit Union sponsored the races. Headquarters this year was at Tommy Martins on the Ballybay road and the circuit used was the Ballybay road, then turn for Tullycorbett and back to the finish line at Ardaghey cross. The various age groups and Category of Riders completed either 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5 laps of this course. The cyclists afterwards generally agreed that it was a tough course with the climbs and drags but that it had a great surface and all were complimentary of the event.  The ladies, led by Ann  Marie, made sure that there were plenty of refreshments and good food for all to enjoy. The following were thanked for their assistance in running the event: Tommy Martin, Emyvale District Credit Union, Ardaghey Community Centre, Monaghan County Council, the Gardai, the Commissaires and their drivers, the Marshals and the lead cars, Ann Marie and all the Ladies who helped, Fitness habit, Killylough CC, Universal Graphics, The Red Cross, Panic Hire, Murphy Video Services, the local residents, members of the club who helped organise and implement the event plans and all the cyclists who participated. Tommy McCague was singled out for the great work he did in organising the event.


U10 - 1. Matthew McKenna, Omagh; 2. Daniel Daly, Phoenix; 3. Aoife McKenna, Emyvale CC; 4. Katie Grimes, Omagh.
U12 - 1. Seth Dunwoody, Orchard; Aine Doherty, VC Glendale; 3. William O'Connor, Kanturk; 4. Tom Kinsella, Carrick; 5. Josh Callelly, Navan; 6. Tadhg Lenehan, Navan.  Unplaced U11 - Mark Fitzgerald, Kanturk. Unplaced Girls - Lucy Bropwne, Phoenix; Zoe Shakespeare, Navan; Niamh McGuinness, Navan.
- 1. Adam Gilsenan, Bohermeen; 2. David Shine, Kanturk; 3. Quinlan Donnelly, Kanturk; 4. Gary Kelly, Four Masters; 5. Aoife O'Brien, Lakeside Wheelers (1st girl ); 6th Sean Tarrant, Kanturk; Unplaced U13 Luke Donald  Team Madigan.

U14 Unplaced Girls: 1. Annie Roche, Orwell Wheelers;  2. Emma Smith, Navan 3. Kate McCauley, SLCC.
U16 Boys: 1. Matthew Devins, Yeats County; 2. Donal Walsh, AAA; 3. Ciaran Dixon, Phoenix; 4. Tom Moriarity, Kanturk; 5. Rowan Montgomery, Ballymoney, 6. Joseph Owens, Omagh. Unplaced U15 Eoghan Cooke, Dungarvan.

U16 Girls: 1. Clare Kelly,  North Pole.

Ladies Race
: 1. Caoimhe May, Orwell(U16); 2. Caoimhe O'Brien, Lakeside Wheelers (U16); 3. Sofie Loscher, Sundrive;  4. Ellie Kelso, East Tyrone; 5. Lisa Lamont, Mellow Velo; 6. Laura Wylie, Maryland.

: 1. Ian McClure, Dave Kane; 2. Fergal Magee, Apollo; 3. John Rafferty,  Ards CC.

1. Mark Johnston, Iveagh; 2. Martin Peters, Gorey; 3. Kevin Doherty, Carn Wheelers; 4. Eugene Clarke, BURC;

5. David Connors, Armagh;  6. Ian Lampton, Lakeside Wheelers. 1st Unplaced Emyvale, Shay Mallon. Shay was also awarded the Gabriel Bell Trophy, which has been initiated in memory of Gabriel, who was a driving force within the Club for a number of years and a great friend to the members and indeed to so many members from other clubs as well. He was a terrific organiser for the club and his presence was sadly missed on Sunday. Noreen, Shauna and Darragh Bell were present to present the Trophy to Shay.

A3:  1. Dylan Treanor, AAA; 2. Matt McLoughlin, Phoenix; 3.  David O'Sullivan, Sports Room; 4. Danny O'Connor, VC Glendale; 5. Leo Doyle, DB Cycling; 6. Keith O'Donnell, Finn Wheelers.  1st Unplaced Emyvale, Micheal Flood.

A1/2:  1. Matthew McCullagh, Sundrive; 2. Gareth O'Neill, Newry; 3. Richard Maybin, Ballymena; 4. Adam Ward, Powerhouse; 5. Darragh McCarter, Donegal Bay; 6. Stuart Thompson, Spires CC. 1st Unplaced Emyvale, Stevie McCann.