Home History Development Today NEWS 2011 News 2010 snippetlist Links
silver hill

Carrickroe Welcome Home Festival Launch.

Its billed as ‘the NEW’ Carrickroe Festival and it will be held over a weekend in June and it is based on the original Welcome Home festival organised by the Carrickroe Community in years gone past. This year a new committee has been formed and they held the official launch of the 2011 festival in the Carrickroe Community Centre on Friday May 20th last.
This is a vibrant community and the first thing that struck me when I arrived for the launch was the age group of the committee. A band of young men and ladies with new ideas and the energy and enthusiasm to make this festival a success. This is not to take away from the great people who devoted their time and determination to the success of the festival in former years and the results of their work is plain to be seen in the physical structures and facilities available to the people of the area and also the continued rural community spirit which has survived the ravages of many outside forces. I always enjoyed attending the festival in the past and am looking forward to the 2011 programme.
The Official launch was performed by the 2011 Monaghan Rose, Caoimhe Daly, who wished the festival every success and I would like to do likewise and if they organise the Festival and provide the same hospitality as they did for the launch then this will be a great festival and I hope that they get the support they deserve.


Opening Night Friday, July 1st HERE
Sunday at the festival   HERE
The final act of the 2011 Carrickrroe Festival was played out in Paul’s on Saturday Night, July 23rd when the committee and friends gathered to present the proceeds of the Festival to various organisations in the area. The amount handed over is clearly an indication of the success of the festival, which was, in the words of Chairman Darren, ‘due to the fantastic support and assistance from a huge group of people from the area’.
The funds raised were divided as follows: €1,000 to Ballyoisin NS (collected by Emer Brennan); Clara NS (collected by Claire Halligan); Truagh Special Needs (collected by Ann Treanor and Bernie McKenna); Carrickroe Community Centre (collected by Frank McKenna); Carrickroe Tidy Towns (collected by Charlie McKenna and Rosemary Coyle); and €8,000 to Deravoy NS (collected by Carmel McCarroll) and was presented by Darren Feely and Amanda McMeel on behalf of the organising committee.