Home History Development Today NEWS 2011 News 2010 Archives Links
silver hill

Lions Club Golf Classic

Monaghan Lions Club held its annual Golf Classic at Rossmore Golf Club on Bank Holiday Monday, May 2nd. 46 teams took part in what was a great competition. The classic had the added attraction in that the new holes to the course were open as the official opening had taken place on Saturday. The weather was excellent, except for a very difficult wind, and the course was in terrific shape. The usual bounty of drinks, fruit and Lions Bar was handed to all prior to departure.
I played the course thanks to the generosity of Ballybay Mart and with Seamus Sammon, Mick Reilly and Liam Lenihan we had a very reasonable score but not one to take home a prize. The new holes played well and provide an extra challenge if one were needed but the new layout of the course makes a tremendous difference to the energy levels approaching the last three holes.
Later in the evening the results were announced and prizes presented by Lions President Lorna Fitzpatrick. She thanked everyone who had helped to make the day such a success and stated that the majority of the proceeds would go to the Drumkill Day Centre in Threemilehouse and the remainder to other local charities and causes. All money raised will go to charity as the Lions meet all expenses from their own pockets.
The prizewinners were:
Ladies team: Ladies captain Margaret Treanor, Eileen Boylan-Keogh, Winnie Connolly, Grainne O’Reilly.
Nearest the Pin: John Toohey.
Longest drive: Ashley White.
3rd Mens Team: Paddy McGuinness, Joe McVeigh, Bernard Connolly, and James McArdle.
2nd Team: Paudge Connolly, Kevin Treanor, Val Forde and Seamus McManus.
1st Team: H. McLoughlin, P Burns, L. Morrissey, and P McEneaney from Shercock.

Some teams who took part in the Lions Classic

Winning Ladies Team

George White, who collected Ashley’s prize, and John Toohey with President Lorna

Bernard Connolly and Paddy McGuinness collect their team prizes from Lorna.

Extreme left Kevin Treanor and colleagues collect their prizes while on the left Lorna presents 1st Team prize to Killian Cawley, who collected on behalf of the Sgercock team sponsored by Liam Duffy.
Also in picture is Rossmore Club Captain - Michael Liddle.