Home History Development Today News 2010 Archives Links
silver hill

County Board AGM 2010.

The AGM for Monaghan County GAA Board was held in the Hillgrove Hotel, Monaghan. It was a smooth run through as far as motions were concerned with all seven motions on the Clar passing without any discussion. However the election of officers caused greater interest with some of the sitting officers being challenged for the positions. The Chairman, Paul Curran, was challenged by John P Graham but managed to hold on to his seat. The secretary, Sean McKenna, also had to defend his position against a challenge from Ailis McEntee, whom he had ousted last year. The outcome this year was again a close result with the challenge failing by 9 votes. It was a very close contest for the assistant secretary job between John P Graham and Michael Burns when the latter succeeded in getting the position by one vote, with no recount called. The outgoing assistant secretary, Sean Murphy, was thanked by the Chairman for his work and commitment to the GAA over many years. Eamon O’Hara who was challenging for the position of Treasurer withdrew his nomination in favour of the existing office holder, Marion Donnelly. Gerry Duffy and John Connolly were elected as delegates to Ulster Council and Noel Mullaney was elected as Hurling Officer. John McArdle withdrew his nomination for Coaching Officer in favour of Eamon OHara and Pauline Rooney withdrew as Cultural Officer in favour of John P Graham. However Scor enthusiasts will be delighted to hear that Pauline will continue to assist with the organisation and promotion of Scor competitions. The other big contest of the night was a challenge by Sean O Ciarain against the 2010 PRO, Siobhan McQuillan, but there was no change at the end of the vote. Padraig Sherry is Vice-Chairman; Brendan Farrell Assistant Treasurer, Liam Stirrat Central Council delegate, Cathal Hand is Youth Officer, and Gerry McDonald the Development officer.

The Annual Awards were announced as follows:

Senior Footballer - Gavin Doogan (Magheracloone)  Intermediate Footballer - Kieran McManus (Doohamlet), Junior Footballer - Declan Larkin (Corduff), Young Footballer - Colin Walshe (Doohamlet), Senior Hurler - Seamus Loftus (Inniskeen), Young Hurler - Martin Murphy (Inniskeen), Senior Club Official - Carl Laverty (Oram), Juvenile Club Official - Dermot Maguire (Scotstown), Handballer of the Year - Terry Kiernan (Carickmacross), Camogie Player - Shauna Finnegan (Clontibret), Ladies Footballer - Lavina Connolly (Latton), Youth Achievement Award Football - Killanny, Youth Achievement Award Hurling - Castleblayney HC, Hall of Fame - Jim O’Hanlon (Ballybay) and Benny Mone (Clontibret), Special Merit Award - Liam McGrath (Castleblayney), Club of the Year - Scotstown; and Supporters County Senior Footballer - Dick Clerkin.

        Paul Curran                          Padraig Sherry                   Sean McKenna                     Michael Burns

     Marion Donnelly               Brendan Farrell                     Liam Stirrat                           John Connolly

    Siobhan McQuillan              John P Graham                      Cathal Hand                               Gerry Duffy

  Gerry McDonald                       Eamon O’Hara                       Noel Mullaney                  Eilis McEntee

Jimmy Leonard (pictured on right here with son, Joe), attended his first County AGM in 1947, and has given the GAA fantastic service since then. I enjoyed the great stories he told me during the tea-break.

Monaghan County Board for 2011.

Some Club delegates HERE