Home History Development Today NEWS 2011 News 2010 snippetlist Links silver hill

Ulster GAA Writers Awards 2010

Two Monaghan personalities were honoured at the Ulster GAA Writers Annual Banquet and Awards ceremony 2010,  which was held in the Slieve Russell Hotel, Cavan, on Friday Nov 19th. Seamus McCluskey, Emyvale, was honoured by being awarded the ‘Services to the GAA’ award and Siobhan McQuillan, Rockcorry, was presented with the ‘Communications Award’. Oliver Galligan, PRO of the Ulster GAA Council made the presentation to Siobhan while Eithne McAviney, Ballybay, presented Seamus with his award. This was the first year that this award was named after John McAviney, who had been a founder member of the Ulster GAA Writers Association, and so it was presented by Eithne in the presence of other members of the McAviney family. This was a great honour for Seamus as it recognised the many aspects of his life of commitment and work for the GAA at local, county and provincial level. It was also significant that the Award should go to a Monaghan person in its inaugural year and to such a worthy recipient. Below you can click on John P Graham’s photo and you should hear, John P, chairman of the Writers Association, deliver the citation for Seamus prior to the presentation.

Services Award to Seamus McCluskey.wav

    John P Graham, Chairman.           Eithne McAviney presents the Award            Seamus with son, Finian.